Difference between revisions of "Logging In"

From Online Manual

Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with 'Once a user has completed the registration process, they will be able to login to the site for the first time. After that, they will be able to choose whether to stay logged in f…')
 
(Marked this version for translation)
 
(47 intermediate revisions by 9 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
Once a user has completed the registration process, they will be able to login to the site for the first time. After that, they will be able to choose whether to stay logged in forever or log out at the end of their visits.
+
{{Other languages}}
 +
{{TOCright}}
  
== Log In ==
+
<translate>
  
When a user is registered or they might simply have been logged out from a previous visit, They have the choice of the normal login screen, and the quick login options.
+
<!--T:2-->
 +
You must login after registration and after being logged out of a previous visit. You have the choice of the normal login screen, and the quick login options.
  
'''The login screen'''
+
<!--T:3-->
 +
{{Image|login_form.jpg|thumb|400px}}
  
Since this screen (accessed from the ''Login'' option of the main menu) is not only where a user will normally be taken when they are finished with registration, but it is also the first thing they will see in any 'members only' forum.
+
== The Login Screen == <!--T:4-->
  
While the ''Username'' and ''Password'' fields should be self-explanatory, ''Minutes to stay logged in'' simply means the number of minutes the login cookie will last before expiring and requiring them to log in again. It is not recommended to enter a long time here if the computer is shared, but they might prefer to select ''Always stay logged in'' if no-one else has access to the computer.
+
<!--T:5-->
 +
This is the screen you see when you use the "Login" option of the main menu. It is also the first thing you will see in any 'members only' forum.
  
'''The quick login'''
+
<!--T:6-->
 +
*'''Username''' -  The member's username.
 +
*'''Password''' - The member's password.
 +
*'''OpenID''' - The member's OpenID.  This is only displayed if it has been enabled by the forum administrator.
 +
*'''Minutes to stay logged in''' - The number of minutes the browser cookie will last before expiring.
 +
*'''Always stay logged in''' - Prevents the browser cookie from expiring.
  
Although many forums also have a quick login box, its position on the page may vary considerably from forum to forum. In the SMF default theme, it is in the collapsible section at the top, whereas it is more likely to be at the bottom in themes based on the older YaBB SE software. If it isn't visible and it has not been collapsed, it is not enabled at all or the user is already logged in.
+
<!--T:6.a-->
 +
When using a shared computer, a member probably should not stay logged in for a long time or check the "Always stay logged in" option, unless they remember to log out when finished. Leaving an account logged in on a shared computer makes it vulnerable to use by someone other than the member.
  
To use the quick login box, the user should enter their username and password, select their session length from the drop-down menu, and click ''Login''. ''Forever'', like ''Always stay logged in'', simply means that the computer should remember the user until they next choose to log out, and not that they will be online all of that time.
+
<!--T:6.b-->
 +
{{Image|quick_login.jpg|thumb|400px}}
 +
 
 +
== The Quick Login == <!--T:16-->
 +
 
 +
<!--T:17-->
 +
An SMF forum may be configured to allow login from any page. This is called Quick Login. In the default theme it is located in the top, left corner of each page. Other themes may place it in different locations. If Quick Login is disabled or cannot be seen, the login screen can still be accessed from the main menu.
 +
 
 +
<!--T:18-->
 +
The session length drop-down menu corresponds to the "Minutes to stay logged in" option from the main login screen. Similarly, selecting "Forever" in this drop-down menu is the same as checking the "Always stay logged in option" on the main login screen.
 +
 
 +
<!--T:18.a-->
 +
{{Image|authentication_reminder.jpg|thumb|400px}}
 +
{{Image|authentication_reminder2.jpg|thumb|400px}}
 +
 
 +
== Password Reminder == <!--T:19-->
 +
 
 +
<!--T:20-->
 +
If a password is forgotten or lost, it can be reset by selecting the ''Forgot your password?'' option from the login screen. The username or email address for the account is requested to begin the password reset process.
 +
 
 +
<!--T:21-->
 +
If a member has not set a secret question, an email containing a password reset link is automatically sent to the member's email address. Clicking on the link allows the member to choose a new password. If a secret question has been set, they will be given the option of receiving the email or answering their question. Members may create or change their secret question in {{llink|Profile|anchor=Account_Settings|text=Profile > Modify Account > Account Settings}}
 +
 
 +
<!--T:22-->
 +
After answering the secret question correctly, a member may choose a new password. The password takes effect and can be used to login immediately.
 +
 
 +
== Logging out == <!--T:23-->
 +
 
 +
<!--T:24-->
 +
When you have finished browsing the forum, you may decide to logout by selecting the '''Logout''' option from the Main Menu.
 +
</translate>
 +
{{ {{Localized|As a regular user}}}}

Latest revision as of 08:57, 5 May 2014


You must login after registration and after being logged out of a previous visit. You have the choice of the normal login screen, and the quick login options.

Login form.jpg

The Login Screen

This is the screen you see when you use the "Login" option of the main menu. It is also the first thing you will see in any 'members only' forum.

  • Username - The member's username.
  • Password - The member's password.
  • OpenID - The member's OpenID. This is only displayed if it has been enabled by the forum administrator.
  • Minutes to stay logged in - The number of minutes the browser cookie will last before expiring.
  • Always stay logged in - Prevents the browser cookie from expiring.

When using a shared computer, a member probably should not stay logged in for a long time or check the "Always stay logged in" option, unless they remember to log out when finished. Leaving an account logged in on a shared computer makes it vulnerable to use by someone other than the member.

Quick login.jpg

The Quick Login

An SMF forum may be configured to allow login from any page. This is called Quick Login. In the default theme it is located in the top, left corner of each page. Other themes may place it in different locations. If Quick Login is disabled or cannot be seen, the login screen can still be accessed from the main menu.

The session length drop-down menu corresponds to the "Minutes to stay logged in" option from the main login screen. Similarly, selecting "Forever" in this drop-down menu is the same as checking the "Always stay logged in option" on the main login screen.

Authentication reminder.jpg
Authentication reminder2.jpg

Password Reminder

If a password is forgotten or lost, it can be reset by selecting the Forgot your password? option from the login screen. The username or email address for the account is requested to begin the password reset process.

If a member has not set a secret question, an email containing a password reset link is automatically sent to the member's email address. Clicking on the link allows the member to choose a new password. If a secret question has been set, they will be given the option of receiving the email or answering their question. Members may create or change their secret question in Profile > Modify Account > Account Settings

After answering the secret question correctly, a member may choose a new password. The password takes effect and can be used to login immediately.

Logging out

When you have finished browsing the forum, you may decide to logout by selecting the Logout option from the Main Menu.