Difference between revisions of "Deleting posts"

From Online Manual

Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
__NOTOC__There are two ways to delete posts:
+
{{TOCright}}
 +
There are two ways to delete posts:
 +
 
 +
===Deleting an Individual Post===
  
====Deleting Individual Posts====
 
 
To delete an individual post, locate the post in question and click the "Remove" button located on the top right.
 
To delete an individual post, locate the post in question and click the "Remove" button located on the top right.
  
====Deleting Multiple Posts====
+
===Deleting Multiple Posts===
Before you are able to delete multiple posts at the same time, you will have to enable checkboxes. Follow the directions below to enable checkboxes.
 
  
''Profile > [[Profile#Look and Layout|Look and Layout Preferences]]''
+
In order to delete multiple posts at the same time, you first need to enable checkboxes for quick moderation. Go to ''Profile > Modify Profile > [[Profile#Look and Layout|Look and Layout]]''. To the right of ''Show quick-moderation as'', you will see a drop-down box. Select the ''checkboxes'' option here.
  
To the right of ''Show quick-moderation on message index as'', you will see a drop-down box. Select the box and select on the option that says ''checkboxes''. Now, go to the posts to be deleted and check the box in the upper-right hand corner of each post that you wish to delete. Upon checking the box on each individual post, scroll down to the bottom of the thread and select the button that says ''Delete Selected''.
+
Now, go to the posts to be deleted and check the box in the upper-right hand corner of each post that you wish to delete. Then scroll down to the bottom of the topic and click on the button ''Delete Selected''.
  
It is also possible to delete entire topics, be they one or multiple posts in length:
+
===Deleting Topics===
  
====Deleting Topics====
 
 
You can remove an entire topic, including all of the replies, by going to the bottom of the topic and clicking on the "Remove Topic" button.
 
You can remove an entire topic, including all of the replies, by going to the bottom of the topic and clicking on the "Remove Topic" button.
  
====Deleted Posts and Topics and Recycling====
+
===Restoring Deleted Posts and Topics===
Once posts have been deleted they cannot always be restored. Moderators should consult their forum administrator on whether a recycle bin has been enabled.
+
 
 +
Deleted posts and topics can only be restored if a [[Creating_a_recycle_board|recycle board]] has been created. Moderators should ask their forum administrator whether a recycle bin has been enabled.
  
 
[[Category:As a moderator]]
 
[[Category:As a moderator]]

Latest revision as of 09:51, 30 May 2015

There are two ways to delete posts:

Deleting an Individual Post

To delete an individual post, locate the post in question and click the "Remove" button located on the top right.

Deleting Multiple Posts

In order to delete multiple posts at the same time, you first need to enable checkboxes for quick moderation. Go to Profile > Modify Profile > Look and Layout. To the right of Show quick-moderation as, you will see a drop-down box. Select the checkboxes option here.

Now, go to the posts to be deleted and check the box in the upper-right hand corner of each post that you wish to delete. Then scroll down to the bottom of the topic and click on the button Delete Selected.

Deleting Topics

You can remove an entire topic, including all of the replies, by going to the bottom of the topic and clicking on the "Remove Topic" button.

Restoring Deleted Posts and Topics

Deleted posts and topics can only be restored if a recycle board has been created. Moderators should ask their forum administrator whether a recycle bin has been enabled.